Asquith Magpies Rugby League Club

Club Contact

Name: Mick Tickner
Number: 0412 886 083

Email / Enquiries

Contact us via email or online
click here for the contact page.

Club Address

11-37 Alexandria Parade
Waitara NSW 2077 Australia



Although our club history can be traced back a little further, the Asquith Magpies was established in 1953 when we first entered a team in the North Sydney District Junior Rugby League A Grade Competition.

We were originally formed as the Asquith Sports Club and supported other sporting pursuits such as netball, cricket and little nippers.

By the mid-1960’s the huge growth in our number of rugby league teams, entry into the NSWRL Second Division Competition and a dream of one day having the Magpies compete at the highest level of the game, prompted the club to seek means to better finance the its activities.

In 1968 we registered as a company to become Asquith Rugby League Club Limited and so enable us to progress the ambition of opening a licensed club.

After much hard work this was achieved in 1979.


In 2003 we celebrated our 50th Anniversary.
“Where the Stars Meet Under the Stars” by Adam Hawes gives a detailed account of the first 50 years of the club and can be purchased from the Leagues Club.

On Saturday  22 June 2013, the Asquith Magpies celebrated it’s 60th Anniversary at the Asquith Leagues Club.

The club’s 1968 A Grade Premiership Team were present as were the Club’s All Stars Team which was announced at our 50th anniversary in 2003.

It was a great night with many of our club’s directors, volunteers and family present. We were also graced by the presence of Hornsby’s local State Member Matt Kean and his partner and The Mayor Steve Russell. 

During the night, the club announced it’s Team of The Decade. A key criteria for eligibility for being selected in that team was that a player played at least 2 years in the Asquith A Grade.

Asquith A Grade Team of the Decade

Fullback – Jason Mazcay

Wingers – Clinton Stowers & James Workman

Centres – Adam Kalcina & Jeco Makatoa

Five Eight – Ben Shaw

Half Back – Aaron Groom

Lock – Ryan Wheeler

Second Rowers – Pat Williamson & Lance Poka

Props – Mark Meredith & Desai Gupwell

Hooker & Captain – Damian Fisher

Reserves – Joel Latham, Luke Jay,

Reserves – Ina Papera & Robbie Williams

Coach – Paul Pollard
Manager – Chris Caddy